Why we Remember

My son is 10. My father, the only person in our immediate family who fought in the war and lived through it died the April after my son was born. What my son knows of war comes from media and history lessons.

As we lose the generations who fought in the two world wars, the truth of the horror of war risks being lost. If we lose that truth we risk making the mistake of thinking war is acceptable. We start talking about the statistics of acceptable loss and human suffering stops factoring in our decisions. It is important, so very important, that we don’t lose sight of the human cost.

I have told my son about his grandad’s war about what he saw and what he lost and how he hoped no one would ever go through that again.

We remember to keep the memory alive of how they suffered so we could live and in doing so, hopefully avoid further pain on that scale.

Author: missionerpete

i an the Pioneer Connexion Missioner for The Meon Valley Methodist Circuit. Also husband, father and artist though not always in that order.

Leave a comment